Skip to content

Day 13 Frugal Living Challenge: Growing Herbs

March 2, 2012

I was overjoyed to see this as a discussion topic for the Challenge! I’ve got this one in the bag, baby.

There are several GIFTS in Andrea’s post for this topic: first, a healthy dose of information and confidence. Really, anyone can grow something, on any scale and it will benefit you. Second, she shares an interview with Rhonda at Growing Herbs for Beginners, who in turn offers a FREE video class on Growing Herbs for Beginners! Hellloooo…. FREE?!

When you hear anyone say you can grow herbs in containers, even if you live in an apartment, it’s the truth. Provided you know your containers need adequate sunlight, you are more ready to do this thing than you realize.

Our very first herb and veggie garden getting started

Today’s daily goal is to take the free video class on growing herbs for beginners, but I’ve been doing that for at least three years. Last year really went bust with the draught – we were very lucky that none of the Texas wildfires affected us, save for some ash on our cars, health advisories, and a constant stream of smoke across the horizon. I won’t count last summer as a failure on my part! I’m excited this spring to replant. I’m keeping the veggies to a minimum- cucumbers and tomatoes, and I’ll be putting in a lemon tree. The rest will be devoted to herbs, of which I have a growing list. Chamomile, mint, cilantro, basil, Calendula, Echinacea, stevia, and parsley to name a few. It has taken me a while to figure out which plants grow best where in our space, but this year I think I have it figured out and am hoping for the best success yet. I hope to have plenty of herbs for our family and enough to share with friends and neighbors. I’m even hoping to throw in some flowers to add color to the garden! So, while you are reading this today, just know I’m in my garden pulling the winter weeds out, getting ready for the spring planting. If you are in my area, check my GA Facebook page over the summer- I hope to barter herbs with fellow gardeners so we can spread the wealth of our gardens and have a greater variety available to us.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 4:02 am

    Oh! The herb garden is superb. I especially like the raised bed. We’re doing herbs this year for the first time too. I can dry them and make my own. No more buying!! I didn’t know you were in GA. We’re in the southwest. Where are you? Don’t tell me…..Atlanta! Everyone’s in Atlanta. ha!

  2. March 5, 2012 4:03 am

    I mean east. (Geez. No sense of direction.) I’m south east!

Leave a Reply

