Skip to content

Paleo Onion Mushroom Soup

February 17, 2012

Just to break away from things a bit before I have my next post for the Frugal Living Challenge, I thought it would be fun to post a recipe!

We are Paleo eaters in our home. Sure we break away on occasion, but most of the time it is meat and veggies for us. (Anyone want to know more about our experience with it? Seriously, not trying to sell anything, we have just been really happy with it. Leave a comment if you want me to write a post about Paleo.) This is my recipe for Onion Mushroom Soup- it is all the yummy of French Onion Soup, sans croutons or crusty bread.

Onion Mushroom Soup

What is so fantastic about it to me is that I can use my slow cooker. I LOVES me some slow cooker! So the major kitchen tools you will need are a slow cooker and  an immersion blender (or a regular blender).
Ingredients:
2 medium onions, peeled and sliced
1 pint button mushrooms, wiped clean, de-stemmed and chopped
3 tbsp butter or bacon drippings
a couple of dashes of Worcestershire Sauce
1 quart broth ( I use chicken, but any kind would probably be fine)
Directions:
In slow cooker, combine onions, mushrooms, Worcestershire sauce and butter (or bacon drippings). Set on high for about an hour, or until onions are translucent;  stirring occasionally. Add broth and set on low for an hour or two. When you are ready, use immersion blender in slow cooker to blend the onion and mushroom chunks until smooth or until you are happy with the consistency. Salt to taste. Serve warm (with a juicy brisket… yum!).
This recipe as is makes about four servings, but I bet it could easily be doubled. It only fills my slow cooker about 1/3 full.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 2:37 am

    I’d love to hear why your family chose Paleo. I’ve heard so much about it, and reading Why we get fat and what to do about it by Gary Taubes just about changed my mind. The science adds up, but it all seems so….extreme. I really like the “just eat everything in moderation except sugar rule.” But Gary says that just doesn’t work. I haven’t started Good Caories, bad calories yet. It seems so overwhelming.
    Please, do a post. I want to hear what turned your family onto this.

  2. cathy permalink
    June 9, 2012 8:02 pm

    a friend of mines doctor recommended it to him, said it was a health way to lose some wieght. I was very sceptic about it at first. But wow what a difference in my life it has made. I love to cook so this is the perfect life style change for me. oh it also has made me feel healthier, the 15 lbs I have lost its a plus…

Leave a Reply

