Skip to content

The Secret to Perfect Slow Cooker Brisket

September 8, 2011
All you need for slow cooker brisket

I have had a curse all my life: the ability to turn any fine-cut of meat into hard shoe leather. I never could figure it out, how most everyone else could end up with perfect, tender, melt-in-your-mouth meat! But a tip from my 93 year-old grandmother changed all that…

Granny says, ” First of all, NEVER add water!”. Okay, so there was my first mistake. “All you’re going to do is boil the sh** out of it.” Alright, Granny, so I’ve been a bad girl. Can we move on, please?

To put all of Granny’s advice in a nutshell, follow these instructions:

1. Simmer 1 quart of water and 1 cup of salt (Granny says use the cheap stuff) in a saucepan until salt is dissolved.This is called a brine.

2. If you prefer, you can add a tablespoon of pepper corns, a teaspoon of ground mustard and a teaspoon of ground cloves at this point, but it’s totally optional.

3. Allow solution to cool, either on the stove or put in a container in the refrigerator. However you like.

4. After solution (brine) is cool, put your cut of brisket in a gallon -size zip-top baggie with as much of your brine solution as will fit. Support it with a dish of some kind, just in case you have a leak. Put in refrigerator for at least 24 hours for brisket, or if you are daring, leave it there for approximately five days to create Corned Beef.

5. When you are ready to cook your brisket (or corned beef), remove from baggie and discard brine. Wrap meat with aluminum foil TIGHTLY, and as Granny says, “Cram it into the crock pot!” The juices from the meat will collect in the bottom and that’s just fine- they make fantastic gravy later!

6. Cook on low for eight hours.

This yields the most amazing, super-tender meat I’ve ever tasted. My husband’s eyes rolled back into his head, and then he asked me where I bought the meat from. He He! The Curse of the Shoe Leather Meat has been lifted- thanks to some pearls of wisdom from Granny.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 10:14 pm

    Oh yeah. A crock pot one I can try out for my crock pot blog! I just love those! (I’ll give you and Granny all the kudos of course.) I’ll let you know how it turns out. I’ve never had brisket before! šŸ™‚

    • Holly permalink*
      September 8, 2011 10:27 pm

      I was blown away by it! Have fun and let me know how it turns out!

  2. Lesea permalink
    September 9, 2011 12:10 am

    I too that I was the only one with the “curse” – I am so going to try cooking brisket this way. Thank you so much for sharing.

  3. September 13, 2011 8:20 pm

    So when you buy the meat at the grocery store, do you look for “brisket” ??I am always SO clueless when it comes to cuts of meat.

    This year at our county fair, a local caterer set up a booth and sold brisket (among other things) It was the first time I had ever had brisket, OMG it was SOOOO good, I have been wanting it again but had no idea how to fix it! So thanks!!

    • Holly permalink*
      September 13, 2011 11:47 pm

      The cut should be labeled “brisket”, yes! We had quite a bit of leftovers, and it was delicious wrapped in bread with a little BBQ sauce on it. It pulls apart and does not need a knife. Have fun šŸ™‚

  4. September 23, 2011 12:28 pm

    Found you on Tip Junkie. Looking forward to trying this out on my boyfriend. His mom & grandmother do just about everything from scratch. I’m hoping this will be my secret weapon in the kitchen LOL.

  5. Kelsie permalink
    November 15, 2012 4:49 am

    This was amazing! Thanks for the tip šŸ™‚ Your granny does know what she’s talking about!!!

  6. Dena Xie permalink
    April 30, 2013 4:00 pm

    I have the curse as well!!! Its gotten so bad that shoe leather is actually how I prefer my meat now lol. Am going to try this, brisket is in the brine now, and will let you know how it comes out! I hope I can manage this and break the curse!

    • Dena Xie permalink
      May 2, 2013 1:24 am

      Update: The curse has been broken!!!! My brisket came out so soft and tender it brought a tear to my eye! haha well not a tear but it really was delicious! I think I’ll start cooking more often!

Leave a Reply

