Skip to content

Getting Rid of the Fat Ass

May 10, 2011

Something I forgot to mention in my previous post is that I have been successful in managing my Rheumatoid Arthritis and have lost 20 pounds since January. My goal was to lose the 20 by the end of June, so I am proud of myself for getting ahead of schedule. I’ve lost two pants sizes and one shirt size. I hope to lose another 15 pounds at least by the end of the year, which will put me back around my pre-pregnancy weight. When “they” say things never go back the way they used to be after having a kiddo, “they” weren’t joking! It’s hard to wrap my mind around that, and a little disappointing. But at least the fat-ass is coming off…

This success is mostly due to healthier eating habits such as eliminating the majority of carbs from my diet, eating leaner and smaller portions of meat, and loading up on vegetables and fruit. I am not following a specific diet, but one that sounds close is the Paleo Diet. Keeping healthy meals made up in the freezer is helping to control sloppy food emergencies AND it makes it crazy cheap. This is proof that you don’t have to spend a ton of money or starve to lose weight.

The other main contributor to my better health and weight loss is getting out and running. That is a loose definition of running, let’s be clear. The hubs and I usually refer to it as the “Truffle Shuffle” or “Turkey Trot”. It is jogging, at best. But I’ve NEVER done that before. I have finished two races; both 5K’s. The last was this weekend for Mother’s Day. It was a muddy 5K obstacle race. I was VERY muddy, scraped, bruised and bleeding a bit at the end but by God, I did it. We are trying to be sure that we are signed up for at least one race each month to keep our motivation up. I have discovered that my RA has done some permanent damage to my hands and wrists: no matter how hard I try, there is no doing pull-ups or hanging from monkey bars. This might present a problem on obstacle races that require such activities. We’ll see how I have to handle that when I get to it. I don’t want to have to give up an entire race just because of one particular obstacle.

Over all, I’m pleased with how things are going. I recover more quickly and the exercise keeps me from wanting the more unhealthy things I was used to eating.

Truffle Shuffle

2 Comments leave one →
  1. FatGirlUSA permalink
    May 10, 2011 7:20 pm

    I’m loving and laughing @ the title of this post! And… I am geting rid of mine as well >> my fat ass. 🙂

    • Holly permalink*
      May 10, 2011 7:32 pm

      Glad it made you laugh! It’s great when the truth is funny. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

