Skip to content

I Miss my Homestead Blogging Peeps

May 5, 2011

I have been a bad little blogger.

I have been busy with school this semester, and have neglected my blog. Now with summer here (exams are next week!), I feel able to breathe a bit easier and can refocus on some old pleasures.

The garden is mostly planted: tomatoes, cucumbers and tons of herbs are all in. I’m thinking of planting a few eggplant and seeing how that works out. I’ve kept it simple, hoping that I’ll have better success with less variety and quantity to tend to. But when I have a few quiet moments to pull weeds and my mind wonders, it always takes me to large raised beds full of large, lush veggies. The kind you take to the neighbors. And there is always a henhouse somewhere nearby. Dang, I swear one day I WILL have my own layers…

I’ve been honing my shopping habits and doing well with coupons. Let me assure you that I am not hoarding or stockpiling! I take advantage of great opportunities and usually don’t have more than three or four of one item. I just try to be very smart about it. And if I can get items for free that I don’t need or use, they go to the food bank. We have plenty of soap, deodorant, and toothpaste, so those are free things that will be donated in the future as well. There will not be a spare room, garage, or other large space in our home dedicated to mass hoarding of stuff. If it doesn’t fit in the pantry or laundry room, it ain’t stayin’.

I’ve been working on building a variety of freezer meals as well. I’m glad to say that most of them are almost completely free, due to the garden for herbs and couponing the rest of the ingredients. The main cost is the meat. We have cut our food bill by about 60-70%.

I have missed reading all the homesteading blogs that I used to frequent. All the personal stories, whether they are similar or not to mine are so intriguing. I miss feeling like I am part of a community. I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things this summer and get back out there!

Here’s to summer and getting my head out of the books for a while!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Emily Achenbaum Harris permalink
    May 9, 2011 6:28 pm

    Aw, we heart you! Enjoy your summer … and congrats on the grocery bill. Damn woman, that is good.

Leave a Reply

