Skip to content

My Own Worst Enemy

January 20, 2011

A microbiology class is a crunchy mom’s worst nightmare.

I swore off chlorine bleach over a year ago, keeping  a small jug for emergency purposes only. Like an outbreak of bubonic plague. After last night’s micro lab, I wanted to shower with it. All night long I was dreaming about what I can’t see and freaking myself out. E.coli, staph, and strep… oh my!

This makes me curious about what we crunchies really do and do not know about bacteria and other micro organisms.  How many people in valiant effort to make better choices for the environment put their personal health at risk? What are not just the better choices but best choices to make to protect the health of our families as well as the health of the planet? There is a balance to being eco-friendly and being health-smart. I’ll be sure to share all pertinent information as the semester progresses. I want us all to stay smart, healthy and environmentally savvy.

I’m sure the creepiness of it will wear off soon. It was actually TONS of fun. If you want more  specifics on my adventures in becoming a nurse, click on my Nursing tab at the top of the page. Get your nerd on, people!

“It’s the little things. The little bitty things…” Robert Earl Keen

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 3:19 am

    I look forward to reading what you learn! I know that we keep the lysol and chlorine around, but use it only when we have pretty serious contagious bugs (strep, flu, vomit, etc.) Otherwise we just use mild cleaners like vinegar, baking soda, Shaklee’s cleaner, and extremely watered down Murphy’s.) What are your latest cleaning product recs?

  2. Holly permalink*
    January 22, 2011 1:35 pm

    Hi Anne! I still use mostly vinegar, baking soda and lemon juice. I keep a few of the Mrs. Meyer’s products around, just because I LOVE the way they smell!

Leave a Reply

