Skip to content

Enjoying a Break

January 4, 2011

I had no idea how much I would enjoy the Winter Break. It feels so good (despite having a cold) to be doing things that I had obviously taken for granted just a few months ago. Today, there is chicken broth brewing on the stove, banana chips in the dehydrator, and dried tomatoes soaking, ready to be packed in EVOO and canned. Today is the day I try out the pressure canner. Everyone cross your fingers that it works and there won’t be a later post today, relaying the horrors of food and glass in my kitchen.

I’m down to my last jar of tomato sauce from the summer’s production. I know I will have to break down and buy sauce at the grocery before I have more tomatoes ready in the garden. It’s only January, for crying out loud! I’m going to have to be the model of tomato production this summer to fill the pantry with enough to last us longer than it has the last year.

Which leads me to planning my seed purchases for spring. The Baker Creek Seed Catalog arrived a week or so ago, and I’ve been drooling over it since. I’m not going to be able to buy all the little things I’ve been dreaming about, though. Efficiency is the key this year. This is my last semester of prerequisites, and time will not allow too much fussing over the garden. The toughest, baddest, most volume producing tomatoes will be the ones that make the cut in the Green Anthropology Garden this year. Now, to barter with my neighbor to make some of those bad-ass tomato cages he made last year…

Basil, cucumbers, Texas sage, and a random pack of ornamental gourds are going to make it in the dirt this year. Hoping that I’ll have better success with herbs this year, too. Oh, and yes, I managed to kill another lemon tree. Sigh. Hoping that come Friday this week I’ll be well enough to get out in the garden one last time to do some tilling and get the lettuce seeds I saved from last Spring’s crop out in the big bed. If all goes as it should, I’ll most likely be supplying us and the neighbors with more lettuce than we can stand.

That’s it for today’s musings. Hope those fingers are still crossed for the pressure canning venture. I’ll post a picture of the success or failure of it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

