Skip to content

Indoor Line Drying

September 16, 2010

With adapting to a new and busy schedule, I was fearful that my efforts to cut energy consumption would take a hit in the Laundry department. Enter: More Behavior Modification. I was so wrapped up in trying to dry my laundry outside that the most obvious option escaped me.

I am now best friends with my portable laundry rack. It is a fabulous thing that folds flat, expands, and expands MORE. And I found it on the bottom shelf of a TJ Maxx clearance section for $12. So back to loving the Earth. Things like jeans and bath towels still go in the dryer. I need the efficiency it offers with items like that. And I’m not feeling guilty, it has a decent Energy Star rating. Not as good as the drying rack, BUT…. what could possibly compete with that?!

Balancing Motherhood, my education and my daughter’s school schedule can be quite a task. It is a constant evolution trying to find things to maintain, things to add and what has to change in our repertoire. It feels like a daily struggle to maintain habits like line drying out here in the suburbs!

One thing that has remained consistent is making our own laundry detergent. It is much easier than you might think! I have a 1.5 gallon jug with a spigot that I keep the soap in and that makes dispensing it much easier. Here is the recipe:

1/2 cup borax

1/2 cup washing soda

1/3 bar castile soap

approx. 3 cups of water (to dissolve above ingredients)

Combine borax, soda and water in large pot, and set stove burner to medium. While this is warming up, grate the 1/3 bar of castile soap over pot (I use a cheese grater). Stir constantly and allow all ingredients to dissolve. If it looks like it’s not dissolving, add another 1-2 cups of water and allow to warm up. Don’t over-heat the soap: it might foam up and out of the pot! (Speaking from personal experience….) Use a funnel or measuring cup to pour the warm soap mixture into your large container. Like I said, my jug is 1.5 gal, and that makes a slightly more concentrated solution. If you have anything that is up to 2 or 2.5 gallons you are still good- just keep adding water to your large container until full. At this point you are ready to use the detergent.  Some people let the soap ‘gel’ first. If you try this and you think it hasn’t ‘gelled’, don’t worry: it will most likely stay at a watery consistency. I add 1/2 cup of detergent to my high-efficiency front loading machine.  I have to shake mine occasionally, and probably because it is a stronger solution. I really enjoy making my own laundry detergent, and this is easy on the budget and the environment!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 12:28 pm

    Great post, great blog! All of the green alternatives that you’ve found are really inspiring. My family (Lou) is always trying to put things on the line outside, but in a city like Vancouver, BC it doesn’t do much help to put your wet clothes out to dry in the rain for 9 month of the year. This post was a great reminder.

    Have a look at Lou & Liz, we’ll definitely be putting you on our blog roll!

Trackbacks

  1. Healthy, Happy, Convenient « Lou & Liz

Leave a Reply

