Skip to content

Where I’ve Been and Getting Ready for School

August 4, 2010

My apologies for the shortage of posts. The last two months have been busy, tiresome and HOT. Not conducive to keeping good maintenance on a blog. However, with the pending academic New Year, I have become resolute to keeping a schedule for blog posts.

For the most part, I’ve been off in Arthritis Land. I have been pretty diligent in trying to make as many yoga classes as possible, and learning how to modify poses to alleviate the pressure on my wrists and knees. Some things I just can’t do at all. The summer months afford me with access to a swimming pool and the low-impact benefits of that form of exercise.  Mostly I have been trying to function and keep home and three-year-old, with little energy. Oh, and the injections are going well, and I’m finally off any dose of steroids. BUT I gained ten pounds. So while energy is coming back and the pain is leaving, I now have a raging case of Fat-Ass. Now I’m looking into finding some sort of nutritional plan (I refuse to say the D-word) that will support my lacking immune system and let me shed some of the steroid induced FatAss.

I’m pretty sure that I mentioned earlier that I had plans in the works for going back to school. Well, that is set in stone and the kiddo and I will both start school at the end of this month. She is totally stoked about pre-school. I am excited for her, too. And I’m thrilled to be getting back in a classroom myself. I only lack five credits of prerequisites to be able to apply to the Nursing Program at the two-year college I signed up at. So, if all goes according to plan, I’ll have those credits knocked out and on track for a RN. This semester will be loaded with Psychology and Anatomy and Physiology (with lab), as well as a Communications credit. I’ll have the second part to both of those to complete, as well as Microbiology next semester. I figured out what to do with an undergrad in Anthropology: either grow some balls and pursue a PhD, or stay home and have a kid. We all know which one I did….

Homesteading has slowed a bit. The garden has been respectably producing beans, peas, cucumbers and tomatoes, and all the basil I can stand to eat and give away. With the temps reaching triple digits this week and being nearly as blistering (and humid) for the last two months, I’ve not had the garden gumption that I had in the Spring. Facing a much tighter schedule with school, things will have to be modified. How, I’m not sure yet. I won’t have as much time to do everything by hand the way I have been, so trying to figure out what will have to go conventional and what will stay home-made for the most impact.

But be assured that I’m back, I’m good and ready to tackle a new phase of my life! Hugs to all my homesteading/green/earthy/Mommy friends!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 12:50 am

    Sounds busy! When are you putting your fall garden in? My tomatoes have quit on me with all this heat, and I’m kind of tempted to wait until it cools down before starting in on fall fun.

Leave a Reply

