Skip to content

Keeping Life Simple

May 18, 2010

I took this photo about a year ago and posted it to my blog, not long after hanging my two

You can't seee meee!

vintage retractable clothes lines. I was happy to start drying my clothes outdoors, and actually, was pretty nostalgic about the whole thing. I snapped the photo of my daughter playing peek-a-boo in the sheets, remembering doing the same as a child. I wanted to be more environmentally responsible, but was this more than I could handle? I had my lists of pros and cons and the dryer seemed a tough nemesis to beat. I was at the beginning of a new habit, wondering if I could stick to it, or if the burning Texas sun would force me to chicken out.

Well, it’s a year later and the clothes lines are still there, as well as a line prop and a full basket of clothes pins. Ever day that it is not raining, there is a load of laundry on the lines. My laundry and I have triumphed over the Texas heat and the lure of the dryer. There has been more added to the laundry routine: I now make my own detergent. Economy and environment have won in our household.

Is it more time and effort to hang the laundry out? Yes. Do the benefits outweigh the trouble of it? Let me assure you, it’s no trouble at all to keep life simple and to have moments like these in your life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. littlehousesouthernprairie permalink
    May 21, 2010 7:10 pm

    You are so awesome to do this. Erik doesn’t like the look of clotheslines (???) and we’ve discussed/argued this one several times. So I will just have to live vicariously through you.

Leave a Reply

