Skip to content

A Garden Tour, Two Clothes Lines and Four Chickens

May 11, 2010

Walk into a bar and one says to the others….

Okay, so there is absolutely no punch line to that, but the title had the makings of a homesteader’s joke.

Late last week I had the joy of touring a well established urban garden here in Houston. What an amazing garden! Citrus, herbs, kale, tomatoes almost five feet high-I could go on and on-  this urban patch had everything, and four chickens! I hope to have the opportunity to learn more about caring for the little ladies by visiting again, and to my husband’s relief, he sees a way for me to get a chicken fix. I also saw the liberation that living closer in to the city offers, as opposed to out here in the ‘burbs with the HOA. Don’t get me wrong- the chickens were not supposed to be there- but the garden was killer. There wasn’t a blade of grass on their property; every square inch was organized in gorgeous food production. I wish I could have taken some pictures.

And the clothes lines… those are mine. Yesterday was a perfect clothes drying day. Almost too perfect- both of my retractable lines pulled the anchors out of the brick wall they attach to because the wind was so strong. No matter, I can fix that first thing this morning. As much as I love Mom’s old clothes lines, I think I may have to replace with something else. This detachment is not the first and it’s getting old. Oh, well, on to a better mouse trap.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa Mikus permalink
    May 11, 2010 5:21 pm

    ooh! sounds lovely. that is one of the reasons living in the suburbs frustrates me – a lawn is such a waste of space! what part of town was it in?

  2. littlehousesouthernprairie permalink
    May 11, 2010 8:37 pm

    where is this? i will tell my sister to go

  3. May 11, 2010 8:48 pm

    whoops, I was accidentally logged in with my work email address somehow. Posting this so I get updates to the right address ;D

  4. greenanthropology permalink*
    May 12, 2010 11:27 am

    Ladies, I wish I could tell you where it is, but it is a private residence and they are not technically allowed to have the chickens… It’s a shame that backyard chickens hasn’t fully caught on.

Leave a Reply

