Skip to content

Piano Progress and This Week at the Homestead

February 7, 2010

I am pretty proud of myself. Since my resolution last week to start practicing on the piano, I have taught myself how to play Beethoven’s ‘Ode to Joy’ this week! Okay, okay, it’s a simplified version, not anything too complicated. BUT it is something, and I’m playing the chords as well, not just the melody.

Munchkin thinks it nifty- she recognizes ‘Joyful Joyful’ and says to me, “Mommy, are you joyful joyful?” Yes Baby, I am.

In the Garden:

The husband, Munchkin,  neighbor and I were all out most of the day Saturday working on the notorious shared garden. All the dirt has been moved from our drive to the space between our homes, and we have discussed what we want to put where. So far, the list is:

  • tomatoes (purple heirloom and variety mix)
  • okra
  • carrots
  • beets
  • purple hull peas
  • green beans
  • cucumbers

Our list of kitchen herbs are:

  • rosemary
  • green onions
  • dill
  • garlic
  • parsley
  • cilantro
  • basil

I’m sure we will find a way to squeeze in more of something, somewhere. Our last frost date in our area is March 14, so we have our seedlings out with lights and fans, helping the little things condition themselves for the big move outdoors.

In the Kitchen:

Recently purchased a dehydrator, and have been going to town with it! I love using a dehydrator- it saves so much space, keeps us from the possibility of wasting food and is a way of putting up food without losing hardly any nutritional value.

The usual self-churned butter, home-made yogurt and bread baking have all maintained themselves in our schedule.

Elsewhere:

I am a member of PEO International, and was invited to serve my second term as Corresponding Secretary for my chapter. I enjoy my office and feel it an honor to serve again.

We made some time yesterday evening to head out to Rice Village and meander in and out of shops. It was great to poke into the fair trade store, Ten Thousand Villages, Half Price Books and some of the uber-chic baby stores. The HUSBAND wanted to go into the baby stores… hear me, the Munchkin is three, so this stuff was waaaay too young for her. So it was determined that we are on some sort of count down to trying for another baby. Husband has put in a request for a boy. I gently remind him that HE is the one with the genetic ability of determining the sex of our offspring. I put in a request for a sling and a nursing tent. (He forgets that I sew, and can make these things myself.)

We will wait just a bit longer before we let anything happen, so don’t hold your breath for any news. Planning, planning, planning….

Three for now, photo by Lian Yuen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

