Skip to content

Participating in Can Jam 2010!

January 6, 2010

I’m excited to say that I’m participating in the great Can Jam of 2010! It is a year-long canning challenge, you can read more about it by clicking here.

I’ll be posting one canning recipe a month, based on the sweet or pickled food class of the month (all foods have to be acceptable for the water bath method).

The category for January is CITRUS.

I’m still working on the recipe.

Last night I canned pickled cabbage, okra and dilled cucumbers. I am now precariously short on canning jars. FreeCycle, please come through for me!

last night's canning escapade

I hope I can find some extra canning jars within the next two weeks, before my recipe post is due. I did this canning last night because I had extra/ leftovers from other things that I just didn’t want to go to waste. And I’m painfully aware that the pickle jar on the right has more spiced vinegar than pickles and onion.

And I have good news on the shared garden that I keep talking about: I will have dirt and lumber within the next two weeks! The dirt was supposed to be a birthday present in October, but funds were short and practicality won out. So this month it is, and planning for the space will begin. I’m sure my neighbor and I will have more things we want to plant than we have space for, but that’s a gooooood thing.

trellised fencing for shared garden

We have two gates, one on either side of the trellis fence, in hopes of sharing our spring crops with some of our neighbors. We also hope to be busy canning and pickling much of what we grow, after we eat what we can. Our neighbor’s yard is MUCH larger than ours, so he has quite an advantage in what else he can grow. But our little space will be great for vertical growing, saving space for other, larger produce. I did a little seed bartering with a fellow homesteading blogger (thank you!) and have an awesome assortment of tomato seeds- a ‘mystery mix’. So I’m anxious to see the variety of goodies that this very efficient trade will yield.

The Cypress Nights Farmers’ and Crafters’ Market is closed yet again this week due to sub-freezing temperatures. This was decided on by the Events Coordinator and the other vendors and it is surely best judgment. No one wants to subject their health and wares to those temperatures! We are slated for snow that night as well… Imagine that-snow twice in a year. I don’t think that has ever happened in my life here in this area of Texas. We are keeping our fingers crossed that next week will yield better temperatures for our outdoor market.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 6:26 pm

    Can’t wait to see what you make for the CanJam!
    Your garden plans sound exciting!
    Hope you find some jars 🙂

  2. greenanthropology permalink*
    January 7, 2010 11:50 pm

    Thanks! I have some jars in the works… just working on the citrusy inspiration to hit me!

  3. littlehousesouthernprairie permalink
    January 11, 2010 3:26 am

    This is so cool!

Leave a Reply

