Skip to content

Frustrations and Staying Focused

December 27, 2009

This month is full of ‘dammit’s.

My Etsy shop traffic is nil. Apparently foo foo’s for baby are not on anyone’s shopping list. Dammit.  I’m hoping at least to be able to barter on a homesteading forum that I frequent. With two weeks of bad weather, the market has been shut down and no chance of selling there. This week I’ll be a no-show because we are obligated to husband’s office party.

I realized that I’ve been using euphemisms like ‘simple holidays’ for hard facts (read: we are broke). Dammit. It’s hard to know you can’t give your kid everything, and as a parent, that’s exactly what you want to do. Despite our mantra of ‘keep it simple’, it is a mental and emotional challenge to know that even if you wanted everything, you still couldn’t do it.

The hard freeze we had a while back killed the remaining herbs in the garden. Thank goodness I had not planted the broccoli seeds yet- they will wait a bit longer for the spring.  Dammit.

I’m not in this to win any awards for self sufficiency or creativity. I’m not trying to impress anyone with my skills (or lack thereof) and I suppose when reality gets a little harsh, it tends to muddle your train of thought. And it’s hard when you have to think simple because you’ve GOT to, not because you want to. The challenge of frugality isn’t so fun when it ceases to be a game but necessary. At least I’ve had some practice, right?

It’s in hard and harder times that it is difficult to stay focused on what your goal is. Things seem to pull you in a million different directions, and none of them are what you really want in your heart.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    December 29, 2009 3:09 am

    “…And it’s hard when you have to think simple because you’ve GOT to, not because you want to….”

    It is even harder because we are rethinking and re-feeling our motivations. It may seem contrary to our ingrained modeling of finding reward in the joys of consumption, but I do have to believe this, those of us that are “getting used too” living with less, are some sort of early adopters. And new territory is not always a lot of fun, because we feel like we are moving into “sacrifice” territory, and that is not the promise of the American dream. I truly believe that people that are adapting to simplicity are the new torch bearers, and much needed ones. Remember, living simply whether by choice or being forced has not had a very popular fan base, but when people understand your calmness about it, even with “dammits” they will understand and feel better about what is coming down the road. And unfortunately, what I see is some major frugality awareness sessions, but on the exciting positive side of all of this, we are going to have a whole lot more of free time for some cosmic explorations.

    Cheers, Happy Solstice, Yule and Saturnalia!

  2. greenanthropology permalink*
    December 29, 2009 3:08 pm

    I choose to try to live with less because I don’t believe in consumption. I feel that ‘less is more’, although that seems rather cliche’. I find the less I have, the more free I feel. And it has been a very good thing- it has allowed our family EXPERIENCES rather than stuff.
    But it has been harder, you are right, because now it feels like less of a choice. Looking back, we enjoyed this holiday more than any others because there was less stuff, and more of ‘us’.

    I don’t do this as a hobby or to martyr myself. I do it to provide my family and myself a life rich in experiences and thought.

    There has been discussion of no gift exchange in our household next year. Instead, we will consider several opportunities to volunteer our time and skills to those in need. Anything we give each other must be of our own time, making or creative thought.

Leave a Reply

