Skip to content

Recuperatin’

November 15, 2009

Some things like ripping out the old squash vines, making butter and extra sewing have gone by the wayside the last two weeks. Why, you ask? Because this manager of the Green Anthropology Homestead had her wisdom teeth pulled. While it has always seemed to me a sort of rite-of-passage that so many people go through, I would NOT recommend it. Oh no. And the older you are when you have it done makes it worse, so I hear. So hooray for me- pulled teeth at 30 years. I’ll take 15 hours of child-birth again before having teeth pulled, thank-you-very-much!

So with this notch in my belt and being fairly healed, I’ve gotten back into my groove this weekend. The dried squash vines have been crammed into my tiny compost bin, and the remaining bits donated to the neighbor’s compost pile. All the work done just in time for a lovely rain that heralds a cool front to bring more autumn-like weather.  I will be thankful for a Turkey Day on which I am not inclined to wear shorts!

I missed one night at the farmer’s and crafters’ market night, but was there again this Friday, and doing fairly respectably. I love sewing, and being able to provide unique items in such a way to the locals feels great. I just wish there was more time to get things done! All of us regular vendors are hoping the economy will not let us down on Black Friday- we all need the extra income this year. And here at the GAH it’s not for buying presents to place under a tree- it’s to pay the mortgage on this expanding homestead! So if you would like to support the GAH, you can get your beautiful baby and toddler accessories here, at my quaint little shop: www.RainyDaySmocks1.etsy.com. For all you health nuts like me here is a tidbit of information on the laminated bibs: the laminate I use is a reformulated plastic that is PVC-free. Done promoting myself, thank you for your attention to this advertisement.

My sweet husband found this article published in MIT News and sent it to me this week: http://web.mit.edu/newsoffice/2009/foodshed.html

It discusses the childhood obesity epidemic among the children and teens in the US, and how suggested foodsheds (like watersheds) can help to make healthier, more affordable foods more readily available and decrease the obesity epidemic. The study was done as a collaborative work between MIT and Columbia scholars. ( Columbia is the primary source of historically influential Anthropologists- the guys that came up with the theories we as Anthropology students study today! Just a note, as I still hope to finish that Masters in Anthro…)

It is quite interesting, so please take the time to click on the link and read the article. But what makes me chuckle a bit is that if you are a regular reader of GA, the topic of the article is probably common sense to you! And to think they had to have our gurus at MIT and Columbia come up with what we homesteaders already knew.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

