Skip to content

Hawkin’ Mah Wares

September 1, 2009

I think I finally found a niche for my sewing and crafting. Etsy is great, but I really enjoyed working our local farmers market- getting to know the other vendors, meeting the people who frequent the market and anyone else who stopped by out of curiosity.

Most of what I have made to this point has been baby items- bibs, burp clothes and play smocks. But I have expanded to a few decorative items as well. Now I think I’m going to simplify the baby stuff, and make my stand all about simple, home made things. Sewn goods: a few bibs and aprons; Crafted goods: pin cushions, baskets and serviceable things; Baked goods: bread. I want to provide nice, homey things. Stuff that gives people the ‘warm fuzzies’.

It went really well the last weekend I was there, in spite of it being tax-free weekend. It’s a good gig- free booth space, electricity and a box fan. And plenty of shade. I’m excited about it- going to be there again this coming weekend, so the sewin’ machine is workin’ overtime, the glue gun is out (finger tips are bunt) and the trusty cash box (older than me!) is ready and waitin’.

I think what I liked most was feeling like I was actively doing something within the community- to provide an option for local goods, rather than going to large shopping malls. It was good getting to meet new faces, and hoping to see them again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

