Skip to content

Satisfaction of a Homesteadin’ Kinda Day

July 27, 2009
Signs of  a good day

Signs of a good day

Today was one of those successful homestead kinda days. I pour relentlessly over blogs and websites with information on homesteading and conservation, and any day that brings me closer to feeling like I’m moving my family to that goal feels very satisfying!

This morning was a simple shopping trip for groceries- only $30 for the week. About half of that cost was a pack of Pullups (I know, I know- it’s my worst offense! But potty training is almost done!)

The munchkin and I made our own butter, and the yogurt is on the patio cooking in the cooler as I blog. The second load of laundry is out on the lines, and the extra eggs I bought on sale are in ice cube trays in the freezer.

I’m trying to figure out making my own white wine vinegar. Apparently I need something that is called ‘mother’, and I’m busy hunting the goo down. So the wine sits on the counter top….

I deadheaded the zinnias in the front garden, and harvested all the seeds from those. Quite a nice collection- enough to replace the original cost of seeds this year, replant next year, and give some away to neighbors or on Freecycle. Ditto for sunflower seeds! Dare I say, I might be on my way to becoming a horthead!

Tomorrow has hauling the recyclables down to the recycling center and paper off to one of the schools’ paper programs. (They get credit for that!)on the slate. More laundry to the lines. Mopping and vacuuming the carpets. Ahhh, the zen of a clean home. It is fleeting with a toddler…

I’m trying to figure out how to convince my husband that we can successfully keep a few chickens (just enough to produce the eggs we need) in a hutch. He is so dead-set against it. He says chickens are creepy, they stink and make noise. I have no idea how to go about changing his mind, other than having him visit  some one’s  home who keeps some feathery friends. But I know of no one personally who has chickens on their property! Any suggestions? I think I’m going to invoke the advice of some of my homestead blogger mentors.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 7:49 pm

    girl i’ve got chickens at my place – i am in bastrop but you can see lots of pics at hippychicksgarden.blogspot.com

    run down to the labels and click on any of the following: chicken love – crazy coop caper – hippychickenfarmer – chickenmama

    i also raise heritage and rare breed chicks to small pullet size (7-14 weeks) for sale – so if you get him to the other side – give me a hollar

    • greenanthropology permalink*
      August 10, 2009 8:26 pm

      Honey, you are my A #1 inspiration! Been following your blog for about a year now. I seriously doubt that I can convert the man, but recently found we have restrictions on farm animals in our neighborhood… boo! So I’ve been thinking of alternatives. I MIGHT be able to convince him of angora rabbits- I do a ton of crochet and knitting, so it is a logical alternative at that. Wouldn’t want to keep something just for the sake of keeping it. So I just live my chicken fantasy through the Hippy Chick universe!

  2. August 10, 2009 8:33 pm

    wow! thank you. that’s really kind.

    in regard to wabbits – our texas heat is what can really get to them. i keep one lionheaded wabbit (king henrich) for lovin’ sake. i don’t know if you have read but i give him two frozen gallon jugs of water to keep him cool a day. one at about 10:30 or 11am and one just around 5 or 6pm – whenever i get home. they do fine in the cool but really need our help in the heat. he’s in the shadiest spot at the north end of the yard right up next to the chickenchicas for good company. they can see each other and chat if they like.

    in the winter – i give him a good bit of hay in his home to allow for cozy burrowing. they are lovely and from everything i have read, can be trained to live indoors.

Leave a Reply

