Skip to content

MOPS Green Presentation a Big Success!

April 18, 2009

This Friday I was part of a Going Green presentation to our local MOPS group, and it was fabulous! Everyone seemed very interested, and there were many questions afterward that I was quite happy to answer. I was thrilled to see some excitement from several ladies; our information appeared to have hit home. There has even been talk of our return next year for a more in-depth discussion on more specific topics, to allow for more explanation of why things are important. Woohoo!

I am excited to report that our ‘Old Battery Drive’ produced nearly 195 pounds of used batteries that were sent to recycling! That is the weight of a respectably built man! What is so important about collecting these old batteries and recycling them is that they will all be made into new batteries. They are not simply disposed of properly, but each one becomes a fresh, new battery without allowing the heavy metals and chemicals in them to leach into our ground and water. Go CBC MOPS!

I must confess that I was incredibly nervous about presenting in front of 60+ women! How quickly these warm-hearted Moms and friends became a daunting audience once I was behind the microphone! I think about half-way through I really got warmed up and got my groove on. I am most grateful to my three co-presenters for being so encouraging and knowledgeable; it was so much fun to spend time together and share information.

I promised to share the DIY rain-barrel instructions with a few people, and this is the link to the web instructions that we used:

http://www.raleighnc.gov/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_2_306_202_0_43/http%3B/pt03/DIG_Web_Content/category/Resident/Garbage_and_Recycling/Cat-1C-2008229-121939-Create_A_Rain_Barrel_Fro.html

My advice is to print out the instructions and photos and bring it with you to the home center- it makes finding all the parts much easier, as some of the terminology is different from the instructions to the home center.

It felt really great to share information about going green; going beyond what we do for our part in our home. I hope I have continued opportunities to share with such warm and open audiences.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2009 1:16 am

    Interesting post Holly. I agree with you giving presentation in front great number of audience makes one feel uncomfortable yet by time and practicing, such worries disappear. By the way the link you are referring to is not working…

  2. greenanthropology permalink*
    April 23, 2009 6:26 pm

    Thank you, Sara, for pointing out that the link was not working- I have now taken care of that problem.

    As far as presenting, I’ll have another go at it in two weeks, this time in front of a smaller crowd, but it is a womens’ philanthropic organization that I am a member of. A very forward thinking group of women!

Leave a Reply

