Skip to content

Visual Proof of Our Homesteadin’

March 19, 2009

I know I talked about taking pictures of the veggie garden for proof, and well, here it all is. I figured I should snap a few more pictures of other things we’ve done to be a little greener, and steps to develop our urban homestead. I’ll probably take more pictures and add them to some of my previous posts as well, just for illustrative purposes. It is so much nicer to have something to look at.

Anyway, so here we have the new veggie garden. I’m particularly proud of my row of peas in the back.

Veggie Garden

Veggie Garden

I think I mentioned before that I also have a row of tomatoes, and in the center are carrots and beets sprouting. The Anaheim and habanero peppers are peeking out as well, and the assortment of herbs planted in the front. I even found a surprise strawberry plant growing in my flower bed- a survivor from last season!

Pomegranante Tree

Pomegranante Tree

Our pomegranate tree gave us about a dozen juicy fruit last fall, just before Hurricane Ike blew everything away. We are hopeful that this season will be just as productive, and there might be some pomegranate jelly in our future. Yum.Oh, and sorry ’bout the photo not being rotated the right way.

Purple Morning Glory

Purple Morning Glory

I’m so proud of the flowers I started by seed. I was delighted this morning when I discovered the first blooms of Morning Glories. I have other fragrance flowers planted, and it’s great because this is the area where I hang the laundry out. So now that things are beginning to bloom, the laundry will smell even sweeter.

Vintage Clothes Line

Vintage Clothes Line

I am so friggin’ proud of the vintage (I know for a fact it is older than me…) clothes line! I pilferred it from my Mom’s garage. Along with a few other set-ups in the laundry room, I only use the “real” dryer about once a week- usually for bath towels and blankets. I especially love bringing in the kitchen towels and cloth napkins- they are crisp and warm, and have been sun-bleached. There is nostalgia with the practicality- it reminds me of the summers I spent at my grandmother’s house in Ohio.

EnviroCycle

EnviroCycle

This is the spinning composter I have. It was a Christmas present from my husband two years ago. (Oh, and that is our black lab next to it. Nosy fella.) Anyway, we are about to need something bigger. But I love this one- have had no problems whatsoever with it. One of my favorite ‘weird but true’  facts I love to tell is that I put dryer lint in there, as well as anything that my hairbrush traps.

DIY Rain Barrel

DIY Rain Barrel

Last but not least is our newest addition of the DIY rain barrel. Fancy, isn’t it? The spigot is on the other side. Forgot to turn it around. There are all kinds of instructions out there on how to make one. This only cost about $50, as opposed to the $150 to $300 range of new, already made ones on gardening sites. I’m thinking about painting it so it looks a bit artsy, rather than the gray utility of RubberMaid.

I wish I could have a few chickens for eggs. We have the space for it, but my husband is completely freaked out by our little feathered friends. He insists that they will make too much noise, and that they are dirty. Hm. Sometimes you have to pick your battles…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

