Skip to content

Realization of My Own Hypocrisy

March 8, 2009

I’ve had a BIG slap-in-the-face  realization this weekend: That my small business, Rainy Day Designs, is not green. Not even in the sense that you could say, “Oh, it’s hard to avoid some problems right now.” No. I am a sinner! Ugh.

I had my first craft show this weekend. It was a complete flop. No one sold much of anything. And a fellow vendor brought this to my attention: The laminated bibs and smocks that I make for babies and children have PVC in them. She admitted she was a fellow laminate user, and was considering eliminating it from her line of products until a safer alternative could be found. Considering? I have decided that I will not produce anything laminated until there is something that is proven safe.

I have also decided that I will only use organic fabrics as well. There isn’t anything as directly toxic as PVC about the cotton smocks and aprons I’ve already made (just the process of making them).

This weekend was a huge learning experience on many levels. The most important thing I realized was my own hypocrisy. If I’m going to talk the talk, I sure as hell better walk the walk. And not just in my own home with my family, but in my business as well. This is a perfect example of how businesses of all sizes need to stand up and take responsibility for how they operate and what they produce. Well, Rainy Day Designs is getting a makeover right now before it goes any further.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

