Skip to content

How Can-y

June 25, 2008

I have had yet again another canning success- this time it was blueberry jam! TEXAS blueberries, mind you- these didn’t come from a truck, thousands of miles away, just to sit on a Wal-Mart shelf. These were from a local grower who sets up his little market everyday on the corner of an intersection out here in the ‘burbs. (Find out what you can pick yourself in your area: go to http://pickyourown.org)

I can’t believe how easy canning is, and can’t help but wonder why more people aren’t doing it. Are we really that busy? I realize that people who live in dense, urban areas probably don’t have the opportunity to get out and find a farmers market. But what about the cities that have those fabulous open air markets that the growers bring everything to? What about here in the suburbs? Everyone has their choices to make, but all I have to say is that it was very easy to get this done. It took me MAYBE an hour, and it was my first go-around. And it is so affordable- I have six times the amount of jam that I could buy at the supermarket for just a little more than the same price.

Here are the benefits I see:

1. I control what goes into the food- no artificial preservatives, coloring, or flavors. Just what nature gave it.

2. There is no container to worry about recycling, or worse, going into a landfill.

3. It is extremely cost efficient.

4. In a ‘jam’, it makes a nifty gift. (That little pun I couldn’t resist- sorry!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

