Skip to content

Canning Beets

June 24, 2008

Canning pickled beets is my latest in DIY. I’ve become very skeptical of canned food: lost nutritional value, it’s packed in metal, and all the preservatives. Even the tined ‘organic’ veggies have me questioning them, although I suppose they are a step up. Don’t even get me started on BPA- I know it’s a big controversy, but why take chances? Read more here: http://www.thegreenguide.com/doc/114/bpa.

After a bit of self-education on the subject, ( http://farmgal.tripod.com and http://pickyourown.org were helpful sources of information) I gave it a try. It was fairly simple, like cooking anything else from scratch, then packing it all in canning jars. AND they were great- a huge success at a family birthday party! In fact, they were so good, I had a request from an individual for more and anything else I ‘decided to stuff in a jar!’ What a compliment!

Like my attempt at making my own yogurt (I’ve done that three times now), it gave me a great sense of satisfaction, and great comfort in knowing that what I feed my family and friends has better nutritional value. Realistically, it will not always be pure, wholesome foods- I’m the mother of a toddler, and convenience will reign supreme at some point or another. BUT, for the times that I can make it better by doing it myself, I will.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. the lovely christina permalink
    July 13, 2008 9:18 pm

    I inherited my grandmother’s canner when she died. Canning is a lost art in my family. My mother’s mother lived on a farm and fed her family with her own canned goods. My mother scrambled eggs in the microwave and doesn’t know the first thing about how to preserve food.

    The canner was the one item that I inherited from my grandmother and was more precious to me for the mystery that it was. I didn’t know the first thing about how to use it. It was a precious connector between me and my family, to a way of life and survival that I had never had. I bought a book and taught myself. The first time I used it I misunderstood the directions and thought you were supposed to let it whistle. It whistled for at least an hour, maybe two, while I occasionally ducked under the counter. It is amazing that I didn’t blow something up or burn down the house. It has been several years now. I haven’t died of botulism, and nothing has been exploded. I know a bit more, and the canner is still a precious connection to my past for me if somewhat less of a mystery. It has made moves from large houses to small cramped city apartments and back again with me, and it is in use once again this summer. So far this year store bought apricots are the only thing to be done, but I have a whole urban garden full of produce waiting to be put away for the winter.

    I love your blog Holly. It is beautiful, has a great theme, and is well done.

  2. the lovely christina permalink
    July 13, 2008 9:19 pm

    P.S. I should also add that I have put togeather the rudiments of how it is done, but I still have a lot to learn. I would love to see some of your recipies.

Leave a Reply

