Skip to content

Doing things the old-fashioned way (sort of)

June 12, 2008
tags: , ,

I have a friend who is a RD, and on her website, she inadvertantly solved a problem of mine. I have been wondering how in the world I could keep yogurt in our diets without the heinous un-recyclable plastic containers. Her answer was simple: make your own. I have begun to try this for myself, and so far it has proved quite simple, although time-consuming. However, the reasons for which I decided to do this far outweigh the amount of time invested.

I love the fact that I can reuse the canning jars, the product is totally hormone and antibiotic free, I get the natural cultures we need for our digestive systems, and NO MORE PLASTIC CUPS!!!! Not to mention I can pick the flavor combinations.

So we will see how my first batch turns out- it’s incubating in the back yard right now. Just one of many experiments to go a bit healthier and greener.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

