Skip to content

Starting our own recycling system

June 11, 2008
tags: ,

Unfortunately, the Houston suburb in which we live does not have a curbside recycling program. So about a year ago, my husband and I decided to take charge and created our own recycling organization system in our garage. It has turned our to be a bit easier than I thought. All it took was 4- 22 gallon plastic bins( for glass, paper, plastic, and metal) , and a 5- shelf garage organizer. The purist in me cringed at the fact that the tools I employed were plastic, but these items are going to be used for a long period of time, and need to be durable, as well as mold and mildew resistant ( we live in a very humid climate).

I did a little research on what the Houston recycling centers DO take , and printed a list and stuck it to the fridge in the kitchen, where the sorting usually begins. (I also keep a paper shopping bag in my pantry where I dump the clean recyclables- when the bag is full, I tote it to the garage and sort everything there- eliminating a million trips to the garage.)

I also found a recycling center location that is near my husband’s office, so when we have full bins, he just puts it in the car, and drops it off on the way to work. It’s really nice- the volunteers take it out of the car for him, and he doesn’t even have to get out. http://www.houstontx.gov/solidwaste/index.html

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

